Home » Uncategorized » A Life of Intentional Proportions

A Life of Intentional Proportions

Growing up in a beautiful country filled with culture and traditions and a big family taught me much, it taught me loving unconditionally, accepting others as they are, I watched the examples of the adults around me, I was able to observe their behaviors and the consequences of their behavior.  I continually made mental notes and decisions, then all these went in files in my mind in their own individual categories marked to be used later.  As these were being filed away they were also being marked as good, not so good and bad behaviors and/or examples.

As a young Christian, I knew Jesus died for me not just to exist but to tell the world about Him through my testimony, my life and my witness.  Around this time I picked up this book at a local book store The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People, by Stephen Covey, I read this book both to become a better wife, Christian and manager.  I wanted to utilize my time effectively so that I would be the best wife possible by not allowing work to get between us, I wanted to improve my managerial skills, but I also wanted to learn how to reach my goals as a Christian and a Wife and a Manager.  This book gave me the start that I needed for this journey of living intentionally, but little did I know that there is much more knowledge to attain and experiences to put under my belt.

I love being a student and I think as a child I was always studying, while in school and outside of school, obtaining knowledge from books or people or by merely studying people’s behaviors, you can learn a lot from that.  All this observation and learning helped me to form the belief hat my life doesn’t have to be exactly like the life of those who have gone before me.

I know my life and my behavior has not been perfect, but by it I am constantly reminded that if I don’t learn from my mistakes and search for ways to change the habits that brought me to make those mistakes I will end up in a bad place, probably have scared everyone away and become a bitter and cranky old lady. Stephen Covey mentions in his book The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People, that we should begin with the end in mind, so if we’re going to begin with the end in mind, and this is not my desired ending, then it behooves me to make some major changes in my life to reach my desired end.

Building that desired end and the journey to that end, is what this blog is all about.  I want to share with you hoping my journey helps someone to begin living their life intentionally.

~ Martha

Leave a Reply

